The "Machine Learning in Solar Physics and Space Weather" Workshop will be held at the Center of Excellence in Space Sciences India (CESSI), IISER Kolkata during 28 June - 02 July, 2022. The workshop is an outcome of the Indo-Swedish SPARC project and will be conducted in hybrid mode. The focus of this workshop is to introduce the application of advanced machine learning tools to the solar physics and space weather community. The 5-day workshop consists of a set of expert lectures in the disciplines of machine learning and big data analytics, heliophysics, physics of predictability in turbulent systems such as solar-stellar convection zones, and the science of space weather. A novel component of the workshop is a set of hands-on data analysis sessions by computer science and machine learning experts.

We welcome participation from Scientists, Postdocs, PhD students and senior Masters' students interested in the themes covered in this workshop. Registration is free, however, applicants will be screened for suitability.

Registration deadline is 19 June 2022

Link to registration form: Workshop registration form


  • Sourangshu Bhattacharya (Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur)
  • Saikat Chatterjee (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm)

List of keynote Speakers

  • Piet Martens (Georgia State University, GA (GSU))
  • Shravan Hanasoge (Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, TIFR)
  • Soumitra Hazra (University of Massachusetts Lowell)
  • Vishal Upendran (IUCAA, Pune)
  • Suvadip Sinha (CESSI, IISER Kolkata)
  • Dhrubaditya Mitra (NORDITA, Stockholm)
  • Axel Brandenburg (Stockholm Observatory, NORDITA, Stockholm)
  • Dibyendu Nandi (CESSI, IISER KOLKATA)
  • Madhulika Guhathakurta (NASA, GSFC)
  • Dipankar Banerjee (ARIES, Nainital)
  • Ajit Kembhavi (IUCAA, Pune)
  • Nandita Srivastava (USO,PRL)
  • Lekshmi B (MPI, Göttingen, Germany)
  • Srijan Bharati Das (Princeton University)
  • Subhamoy Chatterjee (Southwest Research Institute)
  • Paul Wright (HEPL, Stanford University)

Program details

YouTube streaming links

Workshop Tutorial Materials


  • Dibyendu Nandi (CESSI, IISER KOLKATA) (Chairperson)
  • Axel Brandenburg (Stockholm Observatory, NORDITA, Stockholm)
  • Dhrubaditya Mitra (NORDITA, Stockholm)
  • Saikat Chatterjee (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm)
  • Sourangshu Bhattacharya (IIT Kharagpur)


  • Suvadip Sinha (CESSI, IISER Kolkata) (Chairperson)
  • Prosenjit Lahiri (CESSI, IISER Kolkata)
  • Arnab Basak (CESSI, IISER Kolkata)
  • Chitradeep Saha (CESSI, IISER Kolkata)
  • Soumyaranjan Dash (CESSI, IISER Kolkata)
  • Yoshita Baruah (CESSI, IISER Kolkata)
  • Om Gupta (CESSI, IISER Kolkata)
  • Souvik Roy (CESSI, IISER Kolkata)
  • Sakshi Gupta (CESSI, IISER Kolkata)


  • Ministry of Education SPARC Program
  • Center of Excellence in Space Sciences India (CESSI), IISER Kolkata

Contact information

cessi at